Setting the date

To be an explorer (even a part-time one), you have to get out there and actually start exploring.  In part I have already started this by completing a number of sections of the London Loop.  This is a long-term project will I will be completing on days of during the year.  However to qualify as a real adventurer, and to fully review the kit I have, I need to get out there for an extended period, spend the nights under canvas, and really challenge myself.

Now, talking about things and actually doing them are two very different things.  It is very easy to find lots of excuses and reasons not to do something.  So to combat this I have booked the time off work and set a date.  From the 11th of August 2013 I will be completing the Ridgeway from Overton Hill to Ivinghoe Beacon.

The Ridgeway is some 87 miles long and the route has been in use in one way or another since 3000 BC.  It is often described as Britain’s oldest road and parts of it were once used by drovers to deliver sheep to market Norfolk.

I hope that the posts will fulfill two objectives.  The first will be to give a description of the success and failures, trials and achievements involved in planning and completing the walk.  This may also encourage you to get out there and start you own adventure.  Secondly it will provide reviews and tips on various pieces of kit.  Most of these will be about solo, light backpacking equipment, and also how to complete an expedition for as little money as possible.

As I don’t have a huge amount of disposable income I will be looking at how you can still achieve long-term projects with a small initial outlay.  All of the reviews can be found under the review section at the top of the blog.

It’s quite exciting really.  Just by setting the date it makes everything seem so much more real, and in its own feels like a small step towards becoming an explorer.  As the saying goes “All journeys start with the first step”.

Leave a comment